Bubo the Owl

12 Jun

The Summer 2011 Edition of Petite Purls is now online and I’m excited to announce that I have a pattern published in it, Bubo the Owl.

When I designed Bubo, I really wanted a cuddly, friendly and funny looking owl, rather than a realistic one. For me, the most striking features of an owl are its eyes, so I focused on big, googly eyes and just added some shaping to suggest the animal. Children can use their imagination to “fill the gaps”.

Bubo has a dual personality; Bubo the Great, a big pillow ideal to cuddle with, and Bubo the Small, perfect for playtime.


Picture by Brandy Fortune

Ravelry pattern page, where you can see other versions:

6 Responses to “Bubo the Owl”

  1. Carol Dryden 3 August, 2011 at 10:03 #

    Thank you for a great pattern!

    • Corinne 3 August, 2011 at 10:14 #

      Thanks Carol, hope you enjoy knitting it! 😀

  2. Linda W 4 September, 2011 at 14:23 #

    This is such a beautiful and original toy, thank you for sharing the pattern with us! I was just wondering, would it be okay for me to ask you a few questions regarding the pattern? I just wanted to clarify a few things about using double pointed needles 🙂

    • Corinne 4 September, 2011 at 16:35 #

      Sure, what do you need to know? 🙂

      • Linda W 9 September, 2011 at 22:12 #

        Hello Corinne, sorry for such a late reply! I wanted to use double pointed needles to knit Bubo the Small because I’m not familiar with the magic loop needle but I’m not sure how to go about that; should I knit in a round or using two needles in the Turkish cast on? Sorry that it’s such a silly question, I’m still quite the novice!

      • Corinne 9 September, 2011 at 22:15 #

        No problem Linda!

        I have personally not used the Turkish or magic cast on with double pointed needles, but I know that some people have managed it. I’m guessing they use only two needles for the actual cast on and switch later. Have you already tried?

Leave a Reply

