Blois Socks – Pattern Published in Yarn Forward no 35

9 Feb

WARNING: It looks like YF states that W&T stands for Wrap and Twist. This is a mistake from them. The W&T in this pattern is for Wrap and TURN

I can finally share my Blois sock pattern! Today, Yarn Forward released a preview of edition no 35 where the pattern will be published soon, here’s a link of the table of contents for that edition.

And, here are a few pictures of the socks:

If you are interested in the pattern, edition no 35 will be available for purchase in UK shops soon and, online, at this location.

In 6 months, I will be selling the pattern myself and it will then be available on my Designer’s Page on Ravelry.

About the pattern:

The name of these socks comes from the Blois Castle (in the Loire Valley, in France). One of its most famous pieces of architecture is a magnificent spiral staircase. The side twist in this pattern reminded me of this spiral staircase. It is also the region of origin from my mum’s family and I have fond memories of visiting my Great-Aunt there as a child.

These socks with gusset and heel flap are knit toe-up.

Difficulty
Intermediate

Yarn

about 205(215,230) m/ 225(235,255) yards of Lang Jawoll sock yarn

Notions

    Needles
    2.5mm/US 1½ circular needle (or 5 DPNs) or size needles needed to obtain gauge
    Accessories
    Cable needle
    Darning needle


Necessary Skills

Knitting in the round, simple cables, Turkish cast on or toe up magic cast on, short rows

Gauge
32 sts x 44 rows for 4” in stocking stitch

Sizes
Women: S(M,L)
Length: 21-24(23-26,25-28) cm / 8.25-9(9-10,10-11)”
Circumference: 14-20(16-23,18-25) cm / 5.5-7(6.25-9,7-10) ”

To see more on Ravelry:

4 Responses to “Blois Socks – Pattern Published in Yarn Forward no 35”

  1. Sue 4 April, 2011 at 09:56 #

    Hi Corrine – love these socks – I have the pattern inYarn forward magazine and I am planning to make a pair -Im not sure about the wrap and twist part of the pattern – the abbreviations dont say exactly what this means -Im a sock novice! Do you mean twist the stitch as in knit into the back or do you mean twist as in cable? Do you mean wrap the yarn around an extra time?

    I hope you dont mind me asking?
    Love the work – keep going!
    Sue

    • Corinne 4 April, 2011 at 10:12 #

      Hi Sue, thanks for your kind words! I sent you an email, which I hope will help. Please let me know if that helps or if you need more help, we’ll get there 😀
      Cheers,
      Corinne

  2. Minnie 13 April, 2011 at 19:28 #

    I’m having the same issue! Does wrap and twist mean the same as wrap and turn, cause I know how to do that!

Leave a Reply

