Spaceman Nicolino

7 Dec

This hat reminds me of 1950’s science fiction films and makes me think of a spaceman from that era. I named it Nicolino (which means little Nicolas), because I designed it on the day I heard that my friend had given birth to her little boy, Nicolas.

I designed this little baby hat to use all the odd ends of sock yarn that a lot of us knitters have lying around our houses. I think it would work beautifully with self-striping, plain or variegated yarn or with mixed colours leftovers (there are ideas for this at the end of the pattern).

Sizes
3-6 months (6-12 months,12-24 months) to fit approx head circumference of 36-41 (41-46, 46-51)cm / 14-16 (16-18, 18-20)”

Yarn
105 (130, 158) m / 115 (142, 171) yards of 4ply sock yarn or fingering yarn.

Needles
2.5mm (US 1 ½) 80cm (32”) circular needle or size 2.5mm (US 1 ½) DPNs
Or needle size needed to obtain gauge
Darning needle

Necessary skills
Knitting in the round, Kfb(f), st markers, picking up sts

Cost: $1.50

See more here:

2 Responses to “Spaceman Nicolino”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Spaceman Nicolino for Nicolas « Corinne's Knits - 26 November, 2010

    […] year, I gave the prototype I knit for my Spaceman Nicolino to Nicolas, who gave his name to this pattern. He was a newborn then. His mum liked it so much that […]

  2. Spaceman Nicolino Pattern Now Free « Corinne's Knits - 14 March, 2011

    […] Spaceman Nicolino Hat pattern is now available for […]

Leave a Reply

